Apparently in their game today, Hal Mumme's team blocked a field goal attempt. The kicker ran over and kicked the ball again, off a bounce, and it went through the uprights. The officials called it a FG, awarding 3 points.
Was that the right call?
When a FG attempt is blocked, do the rules allow only the blocking team to pick up the ball and advance it? Can the kicking team advance it? Can the kicking team kick it again like that? Is it supposed to be a dead ball once the kicking team touches a blocked FG kick? Could a team attempt a FG, have the kick blocked, and pick up the ball and punt it, with the defending team getting the ball where that punt (or whoever fields it) is downed?
It's funny how stuff like that follows Hal Mumme. Last year (I think it was last year, maybe the year prior) his team had the ball, 4th and long deep in its own territory. They lined up in a typical offensive formation. The ball was snapped, and the defense turned tail to cover the potential receivers going downfield. One wideout ducked back into the end zone, and the QB threw a lateral to him. He caught it, and punted a line drive right at one of the defenders who had turned to go after the receivers; the ball drilled him in the back of the helmet, and Mumme's team recovered it for a first down. It was hilarious to watch, but also a clever play call.
Anyway, about that FG rule...?
(EDIT: video: https://www.saturdaydownsouth.com/se...unce-uprights/ )
Was that the right call?
When a FG attempt is blocked, do the rules allow only the blocking team to pick up the ball and advance it? Can the kicking team advance it? Can the kicking team kick it again like that? Is it supposed to be a dead ball once the kicking team touches a blocked FG kick? Could a team attempt a FG, have the kick blocked, and pick up the ball and punt it, with the defending team getting the ball where that punt (or whoever fields it) is downed?
It's funny how stuff like that follows Hal Mumme. Last year (I think it was last year, maybe the year prior) his team had the ball, 4th and long deep in its own territory. They lined up in a typical offensive formation. The ball was snapped, and the defense turned tail to cover the potential receivers going downfield. One wideout ducked back into the end zone, and the QB threw a lateral to him. He caught it, and punted a line drive right at one of the defenders who had turned to go after the receivers; the ball drilled him in the back of the helmet, and Mumme's team recovered it for a first down. It was hilarious to watch, but also a clever play call.
Anyway, about that FG rule...?
(EDIT: video: https://www.saturdaydownsouth.com/se...unce-uprights/ )
Comment