Announcement

Collapse

You can find details about the Wildcat Nation Tailgate in the football forum. We hope to see you there!

Football Question # 9.

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Lighthouse
    Gone But Never Forgotten
    • Oct 2014
    • 35962

    #1

    Football Question # 9.

    Team A moves to the line and all players are set for at least 1 second. Back A2 then moves slowly and deliberately forward to a new position and stops. Immediately after A2 stops, the ball is snapped.

    A. Legal play.
    B. A2 is guilty of illegal motion.
    C. A2 is guilty of an illegal shift.
    D. A2 is guilty of a false start.
    John 3:3
  • KevinHall
    Senior Member
    • Oct 2014
    • 6857

    #2
    I'll go with A.
    Kentucky fan since 1971.

    Comment

    • Matt Dillon
      Administrator
      • Oct 2014
      • 49601

      #3
      I believe it's C.
      Philippians 4:11-4:13

      Comment

      • Owllycat
        Senior Member
        • Feb 2015
        • 2082

        #4
        Im guessing A

        Comment

        • 40bill
          Senior Member
          • Nov 2014
          • 8450

          #5
          I think it's a.

          Comment

          • Lighthouse
            Gone But Never Forgotten
            • Oct 2014
            • 35962

            #6
            The correct answer to question # 9,

            is A for NCAA, and C for HS.

            RULE 2; Definitions.

            SECTION 22. Shift.
            ARTICLE 1.

            a. A shift is a simultaneous change of position or stance by two or more offensive players after the ball is ready for play before the snap for a scrimmage down (A.R. 7-1-3-I-II and A.R. 7-1-2-I-IV).
            b. The shift ends when all players have been motionless for one full second.
            c. The shift continues if one or more players are in motion before the end of the one second interval.

            RULE 7; Snapping and Passing the Ball.

            SECTION 1. The Scrimmage.

            Offensive Team Requirements—Prior to the Snap.
            ARTICLE 3.
            Each of the following (a-d) is a dead-ball foul. Officials should blow the whistle and not allow the play to continue. After the ball is ready for play and before it is snapped:
            a. Snapper. The snapper (Rule 2-27-8):
            1. May not move to a different position nor have any part of his body beyond the neutral zone;
            2. May not lift the ball, move it beyond the neutral zone or simulate the start of a play;
            3. May take his hand(s) off the ball, but only if this does not simulate the start of a play.
            Offensive Team Requirements—At the Snap
            ARTICLE 4. Violation of each of the following (a-c) is a live-ball foul; the play is allowed to continue.
            b. Man in Motion.
            1.
            One back may be in motion, but he may not be moving toward his opponent’s goal line.
            2. The player who goes in motion may not start from the line of scrimmage unless he first becomes a back and comes to a complete stop.
            3. A player in motion at the snap must have satisfied the one-second rule—i.e., he may not start his motion before any shift has ended (Rule 2-22-1-c).
            John 3:3

            Comment

             

            Forum Ch-ch-changes - Report Here

            Hello All! You may see some things bouncing around, colors changing, and functionality being added and removed as we look at how to make some requested...
             

            A Word From Our Founder

            With the recent discussion of rules and what is and is not posted I set out to find what our mission statement originally was and this is what I found:...

            Football Question # 9.

            Collapse
            Working...