Announcement

Collapse

You can find details about the Wildcat Nation Tailgate in the football forum. We hope to see you there!

Football Question # 1.

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Lighthouse
    Gone But Never Forgotten
    • Oct 2014
    • 35962

    #1

    Football Question # 1.

    Third and 10 at team A's 20 yardline. Eligible receiver A1 runs a sideline pattern. He steps out of bounds at team A's 34 yardline and leaps when a pass is thrown in his direction. While airborne over out of bound territory, A1 has a firm grip on the ball. He lands inbounds and advances to team A's 40 yardline, where he is downed.

    A. Legal play under any circumstances.
    B. A1 is guilty of illegal touching.
    C. A1 is guilty of illegal participation.
    D. Incomplete pass.

    Sorry this is late, I had to leave early this morning.
    John 3:3
  • kr24
    Senior Member
    • Oct 2014
    • 170

    #2
    I am guessing B. Only a guess.

    Comment

    • KevinHall
      Senior Member
      • Oct 2014
      • 6857

      #3
      I am also going with B.
      Kentucky fan since 1971.

      Comment

      • Bourbonman
        Senior Member
        • Oct 2014
        • 330

        #4
        d.........

        Comment

        • Matt Dillon
          Administrator
          • Oct 2014
          • 49601

          #5
          b & d.....
          Philippians 4:11-4:13

          Comment

          • Catsrock
            Senior Member
            • Oct 2014
            • 5558

            #6
            D. I guess they call it illegal touching, so is really B & D but there's no penalty for the illegal touching--just 4th and 10 at the 20.

            Comment

            • Lighthouse
              Gone But Never Forgotten
              • Oct 2014
              • 35962

              #7
              The correct answer to question # 1,

              is D for NCAA and C for HS.

              Rule 7: Snapping and Passing the Ball.

              Section 3: Forward Pass.

              Incomplete Pass
              Eligibility Lost by Going Out of Bounds
              ARTICLE 4. No eligible offensive receiver who goes out of bounds and returns in bounds during a down shall touch a legal forward pass while in the field of play or end zones or while airborne until it has been touched by an opponent or official (A.R. 7-3-4-I, II and IV). [Exception: This does not apply to an originally eligible offensive player who immediately returns inbounds after going out of bounds due to contact by an opponent (A.R. 7-3-4-III)]. If he touches the pass before returning in bounds, it is an incomplete pass (Rule 7-3-7) and not a foul for illegal touching.

              ARTICLE 7.
              a.
              Any forward pass is incomplete if the ball is out of bounds by rule (Rule 4-2-3) or if it touches the ground when not firmly controlled by a player. It also is incomplete when a player leaves his feet and receives the pass but first lands on or outside a boundary line, unless his progress has been stopped in the field of play or end zone (Rule 4-1-3-p) (A.R. 2-4-3-III and A.R. 7-3-7-I).
              Last edited by Lighthouse; 08-26-2016, 02:35 PM.
              John 3:3

              Comment

              • 40bill
                Senior Member
                • Nov 2014
                • 8450

                #8
                Late to this one. I would have guessed both b and d. Operative word is guessed.

                Comment

                 

                Forum Ch-ch-changes - Report Here

                Hello All! You may see some things bouncing around, colors changing, and functionality being added and removed as we look at how to make some requested...
                 

                A Word From Our Founder

                With the recent discussion of rules and what is and is not posted I set out to find what our mission statement originally was and this is what I found:...

                Football Question # 1.

                Collapse
                Working...