Announcement

Collapse

You can find details about the Wildcat Nation Tailgate in the football forum. We hope to see you there!

Football Question # 18.

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Lighthouse
    Gone But Never Forgotten
    • Oct 2014
    • 35962

    #1

    Football Question # 18.

    Fourth and 10 from team K's three yardline. The snap bounces back to punter K1, who recovers the ball on one hop. K1 starts to run, comes to a sudden stop and gets off a punt. R2 doesn't touch the ball and tackles K1 while K1's kicking foot is still in the air.

    A. Legal play because it wasn't reasonably certain K1 would kick.
    B. Roughing the kicker, a 15 yard penalty.
    C. Running into the kicker, a 5 yard penalty.
    D. No foul if K1 was outside the tackle box when he kicked the ball.
    E. Foul regardless if K1 was outside the tackle box when he kicked the ball.
    John 3:3
  • Matt Dillon
    Administrator
    • Oct 2014
    • 49601

    #2
    This is purely a guess, I'm going with A.
    Philippians 4:11-4:13

    Comment

    • KevinHall
      Senior Member
      • Oct 2014
      • 6857

      #3
      Sounds like A to me.
      Kentucky fan since 1971.

      Comment

      • TrueblueCATfan
        Senior Member
        • Oct 2014
        • 16247

        #4
        Originally posted by Lighthouse
        Fourth and 10 from team K's three yardline. The snap bounces back to punter K1, who recovers the ball on one hop. K1 starts to run, comes to a sudden stop and gets off a punt. R2 doesn't touch the ball and tackles K1 while K1's kicking foot is still in the air.

        A. Legal play because it wasn't reasonably certain K1 would kick.
        B. Roughing the kicker, a 15 yard penalty.
        C. Running into the kicker, a 5 yard penalty.
        D. No foul if K1 was outside the tackle box when he kicked the ball.
        E. Foul regardless if K1 was outside the tackle box when he kicked the ball.

        I will say A too

        Comment

        • Lighthouse
          Gone But Never Forgotten
          • Oct 2014
          • 35962

          #5
          The correct answer to question # 18,

          is A & D for College, and A for HS.

          RULE 9; Conduct of Players and Others Subject to the Rules.

          SECTION 1. Personal Fouls.
          Roughing or Running Into Kicker or Holder
          ARTICLE 16. a.
          When it is obvious that a scrimmage kick will be made, no opponent shall run into or rough the kicker or the holder of a place kick.
          4. The kicker’s protection under this rule ends (a)when he has had a
          reasonable time to regain his balance(A.R. 9-1-16-IV); or (b)when he
          carries the ball outside the tackle box.

          Roughing or Running Into Kicker or Holder—ARTICLE 16
          Approved Ruling 9-1-16.
          VII.
          Punter A22 is 15 yards behind the neutral zone when he catches the long snap, sprints to his right at an angle toward the line of scrimmage, and runs outside the tackle box. He then stops and punts the ball, and is immediately hit by a diving B89. RULING: Legal play, no foul by B89. A22 loses his roughing or running-into protection by carrying the ball outside the tackle box.
          John 3:3

          Comment

           

          Forum Ch-ch-changes - Report Here

          Hello All! You may see some things bouncing around, colors changing, and functionality being added and removed as we look at how to make some requested...
           

          A Word From Our Founder

          With the recent discussion of rules and what is and is not posted I set out to find what our mission statement originally was and this is what I found:...

          Football Question # 18.

          Collapse
          Working...