Announcement

Collapse

You can find details about the Wildcat Nation Tailgate in the football forum. We hope to see you there!

Punt question

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Old School
    Administrator
    • Oct 2014
    • 2218

    #1

    Punt question

    If a member of the punting team pushes a member of the receiving team into the ball - that is, a member of the receiving team touches the ball, but only because a member of the punting team causes it - can a member of the punting team take possession of the ball? Advance it?
  • Lighthouse
    Gone But Never Forgotten
    • Oct 2014
    • 35962

    #2
    If that happens, it would be an unfair advantage gained by the kicking team. Possession would go to the receiving team.
    John 3:3

    Comment

    • gerntz
      Senior Member
      • Oct 2014
      • 646

      #3
      So if a punt team player is blocked by a receiving team player & in the process the receiving team player moves or is moved in the direction of the ball - is pushed by the contact he initiated - & is hit by the ball, it's the punting team's fault & the receiving team gets the ball regardless?

      Comment

      • Lighthouse
        Gone But Never Forgotten
        • Oct 2014
        • 35962

        #4
        Originally posted by gerntz
        So if a punt team player is blocked by a receiving team player & in the process the receiving team player moves or is moved in the direction of the ball - is pushed by the contact he initiated - & is hit by the ball, it's the punting team's fault & the receiving team gets the ball regardless?
        If I read you question correctly, it opposite the question originally asked. If not, I'm completely confused.
        John 3:3

        Comment

        • gerntz
          Senior Member
          • Oct 2014
          • 646

          #5
          Originally posted by Lighthouse

          If I read you question correctly, it opposite the question originally asked. If not, I'm completely confused.
          I don't know what opposite means here, but if the receiving team player tries to block punt team player & the punt team player still moves the receive team player into the ball, & the receive team player still touches the ball, who is at fault for the ball touch by the receiving team & can the punt team recover? I mean what decides whether the punt team initiated contact with the receive team's player or the receive team initiated? Seems very arbitrary.

          Comment

          • Lighthouse
            Gone But Never Forgotten
            • Oct 2014
            • 35962

            #6
            Originally posted by gerntz
            I don't know what opposite means here, but if the receiving team player tries to block punt team player & the punt team player still moves the receive team player into the ball, & the receive team player still touches the ball, who is at fault for the ball touch by the receiving team & can the punt team recover? I mean what decides whether the punt team initiated contact with the receive team's player or the receive team initiated? Seems very arbitrary.
            In the original question, the punting team pushes or blocks a receiving team player into the ball, while in your question a receiving team player is doing the blocking. This is what's causing the confusion. Sorry.
            John 3:3

            Comment

             

            Forum Ch-ch-changes - Report Here

            Hello All! You may see some things bouncing around, colors changing, and functionality being added and removed as we look at how to make some requested...
             

            A Word From Our Founder

            With the recent discussion of rules and what is and is not posted I set out to find what our mission statement originally was and this is what I found:...

            Punt question

            Collapse
            Working...