Announcement

Collapse

You can find details about the Wildcat Nation Tailgate in the football forum. We hope to see you there!

Football Question # 6.

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Lighthouse
    Gone But Never Forgotten
    • Oct 2014
    • 35962

    #1

    Football Question # 6.

    Fourth and 10 at team R's 25 yardline. Team K's field goal attempt is blocked. The ball does not cross the neutral zone. K1 recovers the ball at team R's 30 yardline, advances and is downed at team R's 12 yardline. The next down will be:

    A. First and 10 fo team K from team R's 12 yardline.
    B. First and 10 for team R from its own 12 yardline.
    C. First and 10 fpr team R from its own 25 yardline.
    D. First and 10 for team R from its own 30 yardline.
    John 3:3
  • KevinHall
    Senior Member
    • Oct 2014
    • 6857

    #2
    I will go with C.
    Kentucky fan since 1971.

    Comment

    • Bourbonman
      Senior Member
      • Oct 2014
      • 330

      #3
      Going with A since the ball didn't cross the line of scrimmage AND it was advanced far enough to be a first down. I wonder if they only advanced it to the 16 or 17? ... I'm guessing a turnover on downs.

      Comment

      • TrueblueCATfan
        Senior Member
        • Oct 2014
        • 16262

        #4
        Originally posted by Lighthouse
        Fourth and 10 at team R's 25 yardline. Team K's field goal attempt is blocked. The ball does not cross the neutral zone. K1 recovers the ball at team R's 30 yardline, advances and is downed at team R's 12 yardline. The next down will be:

        A. First and 10 fo team K from team R's 12 yardline.
        B. First and 10 for team R from its own 12 yardline.
        C. First and 10 fpr team R from its own 25 yardline.
        D. First and 10 for team R from its own 30 yardline.
        I will say A

        Comment

        • Lighthouse
          Gone But Never Forgotten
          • Oct 2014
          • 35962

          #5
          Any other guesses?
          John 3:3

          Comment

          • 40bill
            Senior Member
            • Nov 2014
            • 8450

            #6
            I am going with A myself.

            Comment

            • johnkyblue
              Senior Member
              • Oct 2014
              • 4418

              #7
              A, hoping that the neutral zone thing means something. Or, maybe the touch of the ball by the defense changes the status of the ball from being kicked back to a regular ball.... and the neutral zone thing doesn't mean anything. I cannot see this ball going to R in any way, though.

              Comment

              • Old School
                Administrator
                • Oct 2014
                • 2218

                #8
                D, I'll go with.

                Comment

                • Lighthouse
                  Gone But Never Forgotten
                  • Oct 2014
                  • 35962

                  #9
                  The correct answer to question # 6,

                  is A for all levels.

                  RULE 6; Kicks.

                  SECTION 3. Scrimmage Kicks
                  Behind the Neutral Zone
                  ARTICLE 1. a.
                  A scrimmage kick that fails to cross the neutral zone continues in play. All players may catch or recover the ball behind the neutral zone and advance it (A.R. 6-3-1-I-III).
                  John 3:3

                  Comment

                   

                  Forum Ch-ch-changes - Report Here

                  Hello All! You may see some things bouncing around, colors changing, and functionality being added and removed as we look at how to make some requested...
                   

                  A Word From Our Founder

                  With the recent discussion of rules and what is and is not posted I set out to find what our mission statement originally was and this is what I found:...

                  Football Question # 6.

                  Collapse
                  Working...