Announcement

Collapse

You can find details about the Wildcat Nation Tailgate in the football forum. We hope to see you there!

Football Question # 5.

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Lighthouse
    Gone But Never Forgotten
    • Oct 2014
    • 35962

    #1

    Football Question # 5.

    Second and seven at team B's 32 yardline. Eligible receiver A1 is airborne over the end zone and near the sideline when he receives and has firm control of a legal forward pass. B2 contacts A1 and carries A1 over the sideline so that A1 first touches out of bounds. At no time does A1 lose control of the ball.

    A. Complete pass.
    B. Incomplete pass.
    C. Pass interference on B2.
    John 3:3
  • KevinHall
    Senior Member
    • Oct 2014
    • 6857

    #2
    I will go with B.
    Kentucky fan since 1971.

    Comment

    • johnkyblue
      Senior Member
      • Oct 2014
      • 4418

      #3
      It's a TD. I base this on the use of the word 'carrying'.

      Comment

      • Lighthouse
        Gone But Never Forgotten
        • Oct 2014
        • 35962

        #4
        Originally posted by johnkyblue
        It's a TD. I base this on the use of the word 'carrying'.
        So guess you're saying A?
        John 3:3

        Comment

        • johnkyblue
          Senior Member
          • Oct 2014
          • 4418

          #5
          Yes, A.

          1234231231`

          Comment

          • 40bill
            Senior Member
            • Nov 2014
            • 8451

            #6
            I could be mixing leagues.....again....but I go with A.

            Comment

            • Lighthouse
              Gone But Never Forgotten
              • Oct 2014
              • 35962

              #7
              The correct answer to question # 5,

              is A for all levels.

              RULE 2; Definitions.

              SECTION 4. Catch, Recovery, Possession.
              ARTICLE 3. a.
              To catch a ball means that a player:
              1. Secures control of a live ball in flight with his hands or arms before the
              ball touches the ground, and
              2. Touches the ground in bounds with any part of his body, and then
              3. Maintains control of the ball long enough to enable him to perform an act
              common to the game, i.e., long enough to pitch or hand the ball, advance it,
              avoid or ward off an opponent, etc., and
              4. Satisfies paragraphs b, c, and d below.
              b. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact
              by an opponent) he must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball
              throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or in
              the end zone. This is also required for a player attempting to make a catch at the
              sideline and going to the ground out of bounds. If he loses control of the ball which
              then touches the ground before he regains control, it is not a catch. If he regains
              control inbounds prior to the ball touching the ground it is a catch.
              c. If the player loses control of the ball while simultaneously touching the ground
              with any part of his body, or if there is doubt that the acts were simultaneous, it is
              not a catch. If a player has control of the ball, a slight movement of the ball, even
              if it touches the ground, will not be considered loss of possession; he must lose
              control of the ball in order for there to be a loss of possession.
              d. If the ball touches the ground after the player secures control

              John 3:3

              Comment

              • 40bill
                Senior Member
                • Nov 2014
                • 8451

                #8
                FINALLY.....this squirrel found a nut

                Comment

                • johnkyblue
                  Senior Member
                  • Oct 2014
                  • 4418

                  #9
                  But the situation says he touches out of bounds first, violating 2... could you please explain more?

                  Comment

                  • Lighthouse
                    Gone But Never Forgotten
                    • Oct 2014
                    • 35962

                    #10
                    Originally posted by johnkyblue
                    But the situation says he touches out of bounds first, violating 2... could you please explain more?
                    He touched out of bounds first because the defense made contact inbounds and caused his first touching.
                    John 3:3

                    Comment

                    • Old School
                      Administrator
                      • Oct 2014
                      • 2218

                      #11
                      Originally posted by Lighthouse

                      He touched out of bounds first because the defense made contact inbounds and caused his first touching.
                      Lighthouse, what is the result if these are the facts?

                      Second and seven at team B's 32 yardline. Eligible receiver A1 is airborne over the end zone and near the sideline when he receives and has firm control of a legal forward pass. B2 goes airborne also and contacts A1 and knocks A1 over the sideline so that A1 first touches out of bounds. B2 also first touches down out of bounds. At no time does A1 lose control of the ball.

                      Comment

                      • Lighthouse
                        Gone But Never Forgotten
                        • Oct 2014
                        • 35962

                        #12
                        Originally posted by Old School

                        Lighthouse, what is the result if these are the facts?

                        Second and seven at team B's 32 yardline. Eligible receiver A1 is airborne over the end zone and near the sideline when he receives and has firm control of a legal forward pass. B2 goes airborne also and contacts A1 and knocks A1 over the sideline so that A1 first touches out of bounds. B2 also first touches down out of bounds. At no time does A1 lose control of the ball.
                        Great question. I'll have to check, but I believe they would go with the last spot the receiver touched the ground. If he was in the endzone, the play would result in a TD, otherwise the ball would be placed at that spot.
                        John 3:3

                        Comment

                         

                        Forum Ch-ch-changes - Report Here

                        Hello All! You may see some things bouncing around, colors changing, and functionality being added and removed as we look at how to make some requested...
                         

                        A Word From Our Founder

                        With the recent discussion of rules and what is and is not posted I set out to find what our mission statement originally was and this is what I found:...

                        Football Question # 5.

                        Collapse
                        Working...