Announcement

Collapse

You can find details about the Wildcat Nation Tailgate in the football forum. We hope to see you there!

Correct Ruling for Question # 6.

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Lighthouse
    Gone But Never Forgotten
    • Oct 2014
    • 35962

    #1

    Correct Ruling for Question # 6.

    Ruling on Question #6.

    Unsportsmanlike penalty on B78 for sideline interference. Team B's ball, 1st & 10 at B's 6.5 yardline. Game clock starts on the snap.

    RULE 9; Conduct of Players and Others Subject to the Rules.

    SECTION 2. Unsportsmanlike Conduct Fouls.
    ARTICLE 1.
    There shall be no unsportsmanlike conduct or any act that interferes with orderly game administration on the part of players, substitutes, coaches, authorized attendants or any other persons subject to the rules, before the game, during the game or between periods. Infractions for these acts by players are administered as either live-ball or dead-ball fouls depending on when they occur.
    b. Other prohibited acts include:​​​​​​​
    4.
    No substitute(s) may enter the field of play or end zones for purposes other than replacing a player(s) or to fill a player vacancy(ies). This includes demonstrations after any play (A.R. 9-2-1-I).
    PENALTY— Unsportsmanlike conduct. Dead-ball foul. 15 yards from the succeeding spot [S7 and S27]. Automatic first down for fouls by Team B if not in conflict with other rules. Flagrant offenders, if players or substitutes, shall be disqualified.

    And to answer catfaninin's question about the score and time left. I have no proof of this, but every test I took, either BB or FB, had wording similar to this one. My assumption is you're right, and a lot of officials allow this confusion to influence their answers, which may the thinking behind it.
    Last edited by Lighthouse; 09-28-2018, 01:08 PM.
    John 3:3
  • 40bill
    Senior Member
    • Nov 2014
    • 8450

    #2
    I think I keep on getting confused on this type of play. If the play was not blown dead and the player ran on the field the possession still switches?

    Comment

    • Lighthouse
      Gone But Never Forgotten
      • Oct 2014
      • 35962

      #3
      The actual play was dead when team A didn't make the line to gain. Not sure why they keep referring to "continuing action." But, on every play, after the ball is blown dead, there is always the possibility of a penalty while the ball is retrieved, placed and the R makes the next play ready. B was penalized half the distance, and play clock started.
      John 3:3

      Comment

      • 40bill
        Senior Member
        • Nov 2014
        • 8450

        #4
        Thank you. The past two questions when the words 'continuing action' were used I thought it meant the play was active and the whistle hadn't blown to stop play.

        Comment

        • Lighthouse
          Gone But Never Forgotten
          • Oct 2014
          • 35962

          #5
          Originally posted by 40bill
          Thank you. The past two questions when the words 'continuing action' were used I thought it meant the play was active and the whistle hadn't blown to stop play.
          I understand, but these questions are on the official NCAA test,and you would be surprised how many officials miss the correct ruling. I have a problem understanding some of the new terminology. It's all changed since I wore the whistle.
          John 3:3

          Comment

           

          Forum Ch-ch-changes - Report Here

          Hello All! You may see some things bouncing around, colors changing, and functionality being added and removed as we look at how to make some requested...
           

          A Word From Our Founder

          With the recent discussion of rules and what is and is not posted I set out to find what our mission statement originally was and this is what I found:...

          Correct Ruling for Question # 6.

          Collapse
          Working...