Announcement

Collapse

You can find details about the Wildcat Nation Tailgate in the football forum. We hope to see you there!

Football Question # 11.

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Lighthouse
    Gone But Never Forgotten
    • Oct 2014
    • 35962

    #1

    Football Question # 11.

    Team A scores a touchdown on the first possession of an extra period. On the try, team B is flagged for roughing the kicker. The kick is successful.

    A. The penalty is declined by rule.
    B. Team A may accept the point and have the penalty enforced at the start of team B's overtime series, or choose to have the penalty enforced from the previous spot with the down repeated.
    C. Team A may accept the point and have the penalty enforced at the start of team B's overtime series, but it may not have the penalty enforced from the previous spot with the down repeated.
    D. Team A may choose to have the penalty enforced from the previous spot with the down repeated, but it may not accept the point and have the penalty enforced at the start of team B's overtime series.
    John 3:3
  • KevinHall
    Senior Member
    • Oct 2014
    • 6857

    #2
    I will take a shot and say B.
    Kentucky fan since 1971.

    Comment

    • Matt Dillon
      Administrator
      • Oct 2014
      • 49609

      #3
      "B"
      Philippians 4:11-4:13

      Comment

      • TrueblueCATfan
        Senior Member
        • Oct 2014
        • 16268

        #4
        Originally posted by Lighthouse
        Team A scores a touchdown on the first possession of an extra period. On the try, team B is flagged for roughing the kicker. The kick is successful.

        A. The penalty is declined by rule.
        B. Team A may accept the point and have the penalty enforced at the start of team B's overtime series, or choose to have the penalty enforced from the previous spot with the down repeated.
        C. Team A may accept the point and have the penalty enforced at the start of team B's overtime series, but it may not have the penalty enforced from the previous spot with the down repeated.
        D. Team A may choose to have the penalty enforced from the previous spot with the down repeated, but it may not accept the point and have the penalty enforced at the start of team B's overtime series.
        I will go with B also

        Comment

        • catfaninin
          Senior Member
          • Oct 2014
          • 2016

          #5
          B seems to be the logical choice.

          Comment

          • 40bill
            Senior Member
            • Nov 2014
            • 8451

            #6
            Going for b

            Comment

            • Lighthouse
              Gone But Never Forgotten
              • Oct 2014
              • 35962

              #7
              The correct answer to question # 11,
              is B for all levels.

              RULE 8; Scoring.

              SECTION 3. Try Down.
              Fouls During a Try Before a Change of Team Possession.
              ARTICLE 3.

              b. Fouls by Team B on a try:
              1.
              When the try is successful Team A shall have the option of declining the score and repeating the try after enforcement, or declining the penalty(ies) and accepting the score. Team A may accept the score with penalties for personal fouls and unsportsmanlike conduct fouls enforced on the succeeding kickoff or from the succeeding spot in extra periods (A.R. 3-2-3-VI; A.R. 8-3-2-II; A.R. 8-3-3-I; and A.R. 10-2-5-IX-XI).
              2. A repeat of the down after a penalty against Team B may be from any point on or between the hash marks on or behind the yard line where the penalty leaves the ball.


              RULE 9 Conduct of Players and Others Subject to the Rules.

              SECTION 1. Personal Fouls.
              All fouls in this section (unless noted) and any other acts of unnecessary roughness are personal fouls. For flagrant personal fouls mandating conference review, see Rule 9-6.

              Roughing or Running Into Kicker or Holder.
              ARTICLE 16.
              a.
              When it is obvious that a scrimmage kick will be made, no opponent shall run into or rough the kicker or the holder of a place kick (A.R. 9-1-16-I, III and VI).
              1. Roughing is a live-ball personal foul that endangers the kicker or holder.
              2. Running into the kicker or holder is a live-ball foul that occurs when the kicker or holder is displaced from his kicking or holding position but is not roughed (A.R. 9-1-16-II).
              3. Incidental contact with a kicker or holder is not a foul.
              4. The kicker’s protection under this rule ends (a)when he has had a reasonable time to regain his balance(A.R. 9-1-16-IV); or (b)when he carries the ball outside the tackle box (Rule 2-34) before kicking.
              5. When a defensive player’s contact against the kicker or holder is caused by an opponent’s block (legal or illegal), there is no foul for running into or roughing.
              6. A player who makes contact with the kicker or holder after touching the kick is not charged with running into or roughing the kicker.
              7. When a player other than one who blocks a scrimmage kick runs into or roughs the kicker or holder, it is a foul.
              8. When in question whether the foul is running into or roughing, the foul is roughing.
              b. A kicker or holder simulating being roughed or run into by a defensive player commits an unsportsmanlike act (A.R. 9-1-16-V).
              John 3:3

              Comment

               

              Forum Ch-ch-changes - Report Here

              Hello All! You may see some things bouncing around, colors changing, and functionality being added and removed as we look at how to make some requested...
               

              A Word From Our Founder

              With the recent discussion of rules and what is and is not posted I set out to find what our mission statement originally was and this is what I found:...

              Football Question # 11.

              Collapse
              Working...