Announcement

Collapse

You can find details about the Wildcat Nation Tailgate in the football forum. We hope to see you there!

Arkansas' bowl game

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Old School
    Administrator
    • Oct 2014
    • 2218

    #1

    Arkansas' bowl game

    Lighthouse, did you see the play in Arkansas' bowl game where Bielema argued so long with the officials? I may not get this right, but the sequence of events seemed to be as follows: Arkansas had the ball on 4th down and punted. Virginia Tech's returner attempted to catch the ball. It hit his hands and bounced out; I believe he never had possession of the football. An Arkansas player pounced on the ball, but did not manage to hold onto it. An official, apparently behind the Arkansas player and unable to see that he had not managed to hold onto the ball, blew the whistle. Subsequent to the whistle, a Tech player grabbed the ball. Complicating matters, on the punt, a flag was thrown against Tech for holding. The officials initially awarded possession to Tech. Bielema argued. They then awarded possession to Arkansas.

    One of the TV guys insisted that Tech should have the ball because of a rule that says that if there's a fumble and the whistle blows, the team whose player manages to take possession of the ball after the whistle gets possession.

    This site has a brief video clip and an explanation of what happened:



    It seemed to me like an unusual situation, but it also seemed that in the moment Bielema knew the rule book and its application to the situation better than the officials initially did.

    Does "inadvertent whistle" mean only an accidental whistle, or also a whistle that was intentional but should not have been blown?
  • Lighthouse
    Gone But Never Forgotten
    • Oct 2014
    • 35962

    #2
    Originally posted by Old School

    Does "inadvertent whistle" mean only an accidental whistle, or also a whistle that was intentional but should not have been blown?
    Both would be considered inadvertent. As for the rest of this, I'll have to make a call and find out.
    John 3:3

    Comment

    • Lighthouse
      Gone But Never Forgotten
      • Oct 2014
      • 35962

      #3
      To give an update, I called and he has to get the film and will call me back. I'll be back as soon as I hear.
      John 3:3

      Comment

      • Old School
        Administrator
        • Oct 2014
        • 2218

        #4
        Thanks,

        How often, or infrequently, does a crew reverse a call after a coach argues it?

        Comment

        • Lighthouse
          Gone But Never Forgotten
          • Oct 2014
          • 35962

          #5
          Originally posted by Old School
          Thanks,

          How often, or infrequently, does a crew reverse a call after a coach argues it?
          The coach's approach might have caused the officials to reconsider their initial decision and to huddle and talk about it, but it had nothing else to do with the reversal.
          John 3:3

          Comment

           

          Forum Ch-ch-changes - Report Here

          Hello All! You may see some things bouncing around, colors changing, and functionality being added and removed as we look at how to make some requested...
           

          A Word From Our Founder

          With the recent discussion of rules and what is and is not posted I set out to find what our mission statement originally was and this is what I found:...

          Arkansas' bowl game

          Collapse
          Working...