Announcement

Collapse

You can find details about the Wildcat Nation Tailgate in the football forum. We hope to see you there!

Official NCAA Tournament Thread

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • justford
    Senior Member
    • Oct 2014
    • 4669

    #151
    Originally posted by 40bill
    It seems officials let things go in the last minute of games. Whether that's intentional, directed or just part of the intensity of the moment I couldn't say. I know at the close of the Cats game I was expecting a whistle any second....thankfully didn't happen.
    If it is a foul in the first minute it should be a foul in the last minute.

    Comment

    • 40bill
      Senior Member
      • Nov 2014
      • 8451

      #152
      Originally posted by justford

      If it is a foul in the first minute it should be a foul in the last minute.
      I agree
      it just doesn't seem to work that way.

      Comment

      • Lighthouse
        Gone But Never Forgotten
        • Oct 2014
        • 35962

        #153
        Originally posted by justford

        If it is a foul in the first minute it should be a foul in the last minute.
        That's the way I was trained. But I agree with Bill, it seems things have changed.
        John 3:3

        Comment

        • Lighthouse
          Gone But Never Forgotten
          • Oct 2014
          • 35962

          #154
          OK. I've watched the replay several times and here's my take on the last sequence everybody is concerned about. First, # 5 white definitely pushed # 15 black in the back to secure the rebound. And on the other side of the lane, # 12 white immediately hooked # 25 black and held him. Why those weren't seen and called is a puzzle to me because they were obvious.

          On the drive by # 1 white. While # 1 black is moving latterly at contact, # 1 white contacts him with his shoulder and that is most always interpreted a charge. While the call could have went either way, there was contact and nothing was called. No explanation on this end.
          Last edited by Lighthouse; 03-26-2019, 11:28 AM.
          John 3:3

          Comment

          • lilproUK98
            Senior Member
            • Nov 2014
            • 2472

            #155
            Originally posted by Lighthouse
            OK. I've watched the replay several times and here's my take on the last sequence everybody is concerned about. First, # 5 white definitely pushed # 15 black in the back to secure the rebound. And on the other side of the lane, # 12 white immediately hooked # 25 black and held him. Why those weren't seen and called is a puzzle to me because they were obvious.

            On the drive by # 1 white. While # 1 black is moving latterly at contact, # 1 white contacts him with his shoulder and that is most always interpreted a charge. While the call could have went either way, there was contact and nothing was called. No explanation on this end.
            Thank you.

            Comment

            • 85 Fly
              Senior Member
              • Oct 2015
              • 1297

              #156
              Man, UCF had several opportunities regardless of a couple bad calls. Aubrey needs to make the dunk, Tako not foul out and RJ's not getting that rebound and if that was the case then wouldn't need to rely on Aubrey's put-back with seconds on the clock.

              Looking forward to Duke vs V-tech. I wouldn't be surprised if Duke doesn't make it to the final 4...you can't just have 2 players consistently show-up, need a team effort the farther along you get in the tournament.

              Comment

              • KCKUKFan
                Senior Member
                • Nov 2014
                • 14228

                #157
                Originally posted by Lighthouse
                OK. I've watched the replay several times and here's my take on the last sequence everybody is concerned about. First, # 5 white definitely pushed # 15 black in the back to secure the rebound. And on the other side of the lane, # 12 white immediately hooked # 25 black and held him. Why those weren't seen and called is a puzzle to me because they were obvious.

                On the drive by # 1 white. While # 1 black is moving latterly at contact, # 1 white contacts him with his shoulder and that is most always interpreted a charge. While the call could have went either way, there was contact and nothing was called. No explanation on this end.
                Explanation is Duke.

                Comment

                • JFCats22
                  Senior Member
                  • Oct 2014
                  • 4210

                  #158
                  Originally posted by Lighthouse
                  OK. I've watched the replay several times and here's my take on the last sequence everybody is concerned about. First, # 5 white definitely pushed # 15 black in the back to secure the rebound. And on the other side of the lane, # 12 white immediately hooked # 25 black and held him. Why those weren't seen and called is a puzzle to me because they were obvious.

                  On the drive by # 1 white. While # 1 black is moving latterly at contact, # 1 white contacts him with his shoulder and that is most always interpreted a charge. While the call could have went either way, there was contact and nothing was called. No explanation on this end.
                  Good stuff. Thanks for the review. Did you watch the final drive by UCF? He got fouled there as well.

                  It’s a travesty that they missed all of these calls. Makes it hard to believe that there aren’t other things going on here.

                  Comment

                  • Lighthouse
                    Gone But Never Forgotten
                    • Oct 2014
                    • 35962

                    #159
                    Originally posted by JFCats22

                    Good stuff. Thanks for the review. Did you watch the final drive by UCF? He got fouled there as well.

                    It’s a travesty that they missed all of these calls. Makes it hard to believe that there aren’t other things going on here.
                    With the way it happened I understand why folks think that way. I just don't think so, and it's OK to disagree. I didn't watch the final play.
                    John 3:3

                    Comment

                    • 40bill
                      Senior Member
                      • Nov 2014
                      • 8451

                      #160
                      I see the world thru Kentucky blue shades, but I could certainly understand Wofford fan's (and Kentucky haters) thinking the Cats got breaks the last minute of the game.
                      i just think some officials swallow the whistle the last of the games and let it rip.
                      Maybe I'm wrong. Just seems that way.

                      Comment

                      • Lighthouse
                        Gone But Never Forgotten
                        • Oct 2014
                        • 35962

                        #161
                        Originally posted by 40bill
                        I see the world thru Kentucky blue shades, but I could certainly understand Wofford fan's (and Kentucky haters) thinking the Cats got breaks the last minute of the game.
                        i just think some officials swallow the whistle the last of the games and let it rip.
                        Maybe I'm wrong. Just seems that way.
                        And I'm ashamed to say it seems to happen more often. I remember several games I worked when there was a time out late it the game and we got together and encouraged each other to "get it right," the rest of the game.
                        John 3:3

                        Comment

                        • teamchemistry15
                          Senior Member
                          • Oct 2014
                          • 7022

                          #162
                          Originally posted by JFCats22

                          Good stuff. Thanks for the review. Did you watch the final drive by UCF? He got fouled there as well.

                          It’s a travesty that they missed all of these calls. Makes it hard to believe that there aren’t other things going on here.
                          Look at that. When you question things worth questioning you get honest responses. I think someone owes someone an apology because they criticized someone's response before hearing it...

                          Comment

                          • Lighthouse
                            Gone But Never Forgotten
                            • Oct 2014
                            • 35962

                            #163
                            Here are the officials working the duke UCF game and their conference affiliation. Brian O'Connell, Big East. Vern Harris, Pac 12 & Paul Szelc, Big 10. O'Connell was on the baseline and I think Szelc was at the Center position. The plays were O'Connell's primary responsibility, with Szelc in secondary position. Harrtis was at trail position with off ball responsibility.
                            John 3:3

                            Comment

                            • lilproUK98
                              Senior Member
                              • Nov 2014
                              • 2472

                              #164
                              Originally posted by Lighthouse
                              Here are the officials working the duke UCF game and their conference affiliation. Brian O'Connell, Big East. Vern Harris, Pac 12 & Paul Szelc, Big 10. O'Connell was on the baseline and I think Szelc was at the Center position. The plays were O'Connell's primary responsibility, with Szelc in secondary position. Harrtis was at trail position with off ball responsibility.
                              Unreal if it's true that the official "changed his mind" on this call. If you watch the video, it is absolutely non debatable that this should have been two shots......unreal
                              Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190326-163925.png
Views:	140
Size:	339.9 KB
ID:	202285

                              Comment

                              • Joneslab
                                Senior Member
                                • Oct 2014
                                • 39604

                                #165
                                Carolina's Nas Little may have the flu. Isn't practicing today and is questionable for tomorrow.

                                Would be a pretty big loss. He went through a stretch in their last game where he dominated.

                                In other news, Virginia Tech's Ty Outlaw was apparently busted with marijuana but Virginia Tech says he'll still play against Duke tomorrow.

                                Comment

                                 

                                Forum Ch-ch-changes - Report Here

                                Hello All! You may see some things bouncing around, colors changing, and functionality being added and removed as we look at how to make some requested...
                                 

                                A Word From Our Founder

                                With the recent discussion of rules and what is and is not posted I set out to find what our mission statement originally was and this is what I found:...

                                Official NCAA Tournament Thread

                                Collapse
                                Working...