Announcement

Collapse

You can find details about the Wildcat Nation Tailgate in the football forum. We hope to see you there!

Basketball Question # 6,

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Lighthouse
    Gone But Never Forgotten
    • Oct 2014
    • 35962

    #1

    Basketball Question # 6,

    Which of the following result in a violation by the player making a throw-in?

    A. The player dribbles during a designated-spot throw-in.
    B. The player dribbles during a non-designated spot throw-in.
    C. The player travels (lifts and returns a pivot foot to the floor) during a designated-spot throw-in.
    D. The player travels (lifts and returns a pivot foot to the floor) during a non-designated spot throw-in.
    E. None of the above.
    John 3:3
  • KevinHall
    Senior Member
    • Oct 2014
    • 6857

    #2
    I will say A & C
    Kentucky fan since 1971.

    Comment

    • gerntz
      Senior Member
      • Oct 2014
      • 646

      #3
      C filling space

      Comment

      • Lighthouse
        Gone But Never Forgotten
        • Oct 2014
        • 35962

        #4
        back to top
        John 3:3

        Comment

        • gerntz
          Senior Member
          • Oct 2014
          • 646

          #5
          OK, but still C.

          Comment

          • catfan
            Senior Member
            • Dec 2014
            • 337

            #6
            In my few years of ref and 60 yrs of watching bb, I have never seen a player dribble the ball who was going to throw the ball in-bounds.

            Comment

            • gerntz
              Senior Member
              • Oct 2014
              • 646

              #7
              Originally posted by catfan
              In my few years of ref and 60 yrs of watching bb, I have never seen a player dribble the ball who was going to throw the ball in-bounds.
              A dropped ball caught is a one bounce dribble. Seen many times.

              Comment

              • Chaz
                Senior Member
                • Nov 2014
                • 235

                #8
                could it possibly be none of the above? E
                Eight is great--Time for Nine

                Comment

                • Lighthouse
                  Gone But Never Forgotten
                  • Oct 2014
                  • 35962

                  #9
                  The Correct Answer to Basketball Question # 6 is,

                  E for all levels.

                  RULE 7; Out of Bounds and the Throw-in.

                  Section 6. Throw-in — Requirements
                  Art. 8. The following pertain to a designated spot:
                  c. The thrower-in must keep one foot on or over the designated spot until the
                  ball is released. Pivot foot restrictions and the traveling rule are not in
                  effect for a throw-in.

                  RULE 9; Violations and Penalties.

                  Section 5. Throw-in
                  Art. 1. It is a throw-in violation when a thrower-in:
                  a
                  . Leaves a designated spot before releasing the ball and that ball crosses the
                  plane of the boundary.
                  b. Fails to pass the ball directly into the playing court so that after it crosses
                  the boundary line, it touches an inbounds player or is touched by a player,
                  who is on the playing court, and causes the ball to be out of bounds.
                  c. Executes a throw-in that lodges between the backboard and the ring or
                  comes to rest on the flange.
                  d. Consumes more than five seconds from the time the throw-in starts until
                  the ball is released.
                  e. Carries or hands the ball to a teammate who is on the playing court.
                  f. Touches the playing court before the throw-in is released or touches the
                  ball in the playing court before it has touched another player.
                  g. Throws the ball so that it enters the basket before touching anyone, strikes
                  the back of the backboard or its supports, passes over the backboard, or
                  bounces into the playing court from a balcony or from the floor out of
                  bounds.
                  John 3:3

                  Comment

                  • KevinHall
                    Senior Member
                    • Oct 2014
                    • 6857

                    #10
                    I don't think I have ever seen a player dibble during a throw in. I just assumed it was illegal to do that.
                    Kentucky fan since 1971.

                    Comment

                    • Lighthouse
                      Gone But Never Forgotten
                      • Oct 2014
                      • 35962

                      #11
                      Originally posted by KevinHall
                      I don't think I have ever seen a player dibble during a throw in. I just assumed it was illegal to do that.

                      It's unusual because of the time factor of releasing the ball, but it does happen. Learning, that's what this Forum is all about.
                      John 3:3

                      Comment

                      • UKBoo
                        Senior Member
                        • Oct 2014
                        • 214

                        #12
                        Late to the party but I rember UofL fans being upset that Sparks "traveled" on a designated throw in. But, there is no such thing as long and he stays in the designated area. I've seen many guys drop the ball during a non-designated throw in but never on a designated. Either way it is a dribble but as long as the designated guy doesn't leave his spot I could see no difference than with the non-designated spot guy.

                        So what happens if the designated spot guy drops the ball moves to get it then moves back? I would think that would be a violation.

                        Comment

                        • Lighthouse
                          Gone But Never Forgotten
                          • Oct 2014
                          • 35962

                          #13
                          Originally posted by UKBoo
                          Late to the party but I rember UofL fans being upset that Sparks "traveled" on a designated throw in. But, there is no such thing as long and he stays in the designated area. I've seen many guys drop the ball during a non-designated throw in but never on a designated. Either way it is a dribble but as long as the designated guy doesn't leave his spot I could see no difference than with the non-designated spot guy.

                          So what happens if the designated spot guy drops the ball moves to get it then moves back? I would think that would be a violation.
                          In the Sparks play, he received the inbound's pass.

                          If the ball doesn't go far, the officials will allow this. The main reason the thrower-in doesn't bounce the ball before releasing the ball, is because he doesn't want to risk dribbling the ball on the out-of-bounds line.
                          John 3:3

                          Comment

                          • gerntz
                            Senior Member
                            • Oct 2014
                            • 646

                            #14
                            But your C doesn't say that when the player lifted his foot that he kept it over the designated spot. He might have flung it in any direction away from the spot before returning it to the designated spot.

                            Comment

                            • Lighthouse
                              Gone But Never Forgotten
                              • Oct 2014
                              • 35962

                              #15
                              Please, read the question for what is posted, On a test an Official can't say what if.
                              John 3:3

                              Comment

                               

                              Forum Ch-ch-changes - Report Here

                              Hello All! You may see some things bouncing around, colors changing, and functionality being added and removed as we look at how to make some requested...
                               

                              A Word From Our Founder

                              With the recent discussion of rules and what is and is not posted I set out to find what our mission statement originally was and this is what I found:...

                              Basketball Question # 6,

                              Collapse
                              Working...