Announcement

Collapse

You can find details about the Wildcat Nation Tailgate in the football forum. We hope to see you there!

Basketball Question # 11,

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Lighthouse
    Gone But Never Forgotten
    • Oct 2014
    • 35962

    #1

    Basketball Question # 11,

    In which of these scenarios shall a traveling violation be called if A1 dives for the ball on the floor, gains control of the ball on the floor while sliding, and then:

    A. A1's momentum causes him or her to slide an additional three feet prior to coming to a stop.
    B. A1"s momentum causes him or her to roll over multiple times prior to coming to a stop.
    C. After A1 comes to a stop, A1 rolls from his or her front to his or her back..
    D. After A1 comes to a stop, A1 begins to dribble and stands up.
    John 3:3
  • KevinHall
    Senior Member
    • Oct 2014
    • 6857

    #2
    I will go with D.........
    Kentucky fan since 1971.

    Comment

    • TrueblueCATfan
      Senior Member
      • Oct 2014
      • 16259

      #3
      Originally posted by Lighthouse
      In which of these scenarios shall a traveling violation be called if A1 dives for the ball on the floor, gains control of the ball on the floor while sliding, and then:

      A. A1's momentum causes him or her to slide an additional three feet prior to coming to a stop.
      B. A1"s momentum causes him or her to roll over multiple times prior to coming to a stop.
      C. After A1 comes to a stop, A1 rolls from his or her front to his or her back..
      D. After A1 comes to a stop, A1 begins to dribble and stands up.

      I will say D

      Comment

      • Lighthouse
        Gone But Never Forgotten
        • Oct 2014
        • 35962

        #4
        The Correct Answer to Basketball Question # 11,

        is C for all levels.

        RULE 9; Violations and Penalties.

        Section 6. Traveling
        Art. 1.
        A player shall not travel with the ball.
        Art. 2. Traveling occurs when a player holding the ball moves a foot or both feet
        in any direction in excess of prescribed limits described in this section.
        Art. 3. A player who catches the ball with both feet on the playing court may
        pivot, using either foot. When one foot is lifted, the other is the pivot foot.
        Art. 4. A player who catches the ball while moving or ends a dribble may stop
        and establish a pivot foot as follows:
        a. When both feet are off the playing court and the player lands:
        1. Simultaneously on both feet, either may be the pivot foot;
        2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch shall be the
        pivot foot;
        3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land
        on both, in which case neither foot can be the pivot foot.
        b. When one foot is on the playing court:
        1. That foot shall be the pivot foot when the other foot touches in a step;
        2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both, in
        which case neither foot can then be the pivot foot.
        Art. 5. After coming to a stop and establishing the pivot foot:
        a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the playing court, before
        the ball is released on a pass or try for goal;
        b. The pivot foot shall not be lifted before the ball is released to start a
        dribble.
        Art. 6. After coming to a stop when neither foot can be the pivot foot:
        a. One or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the playing
        court, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal;
        b. Neither foot shall be lifted, before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
        Art. 7. It is traveling when a player falls to the playing court while holding the
        ball without maintaining a pivot foot.

        Above is the entire rule on traveling in the NCAA rule book. I could not find an explanation of the scenario anywhere in the rule book, so I'll try to explain why C is the correct answer. In answer C, the player had come to a complete stop before turning over, which in turning over both feet has to move and momentum had no bearing.
        John 3:3

        Comment

         

        Forum Ch-ch-changes - Report Here

        Hello All! You may see some things bouncing around, colors changing, and functionality being added and removed as we look at how to make some requested...
         

        A Word From Our Founder

        With the recent discussion of rules and what is and is not posted I set out to find what our mission statement originally was and this is what I found:...

        Basketball Question # 11,

        Collapse
        Working...