Announcement

Collapse

You can find details about the Wildcat Nation Tailgate in the football forum. We hope to see you there!

Basketball Question # 14.

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Lighthouse
    Gone But Never Forgotten
    • Oct 2014
    • 35962

    #1

    Basketball Question # 14.

    When a post player has his or her back to the basket, which of the following does not result in a foul.

    A. The defender places two hands on the player with the ball merely incidentally and without dispwith the balllacement.
    B. The defender places an extended arm bar or one hand with a bend in the elbow on the player with the ball without displacement.
    C. The defender places a forearm of equal pressure applied to the back of the post player with the ball.
    D. All of the above result in a foul even if no holding, displacing or impeding of the player occurs with the ball.
    John 3:3
  • BJD
    Senior Member
    • Nov 2016
    • 454

    #2
    Is the answer based on how officials actually call it or on how it's supposed to be called? There's a huge difference.

    Comment

    • KevinHall
      Senior Member
      • Oct 2014
      • 6857

      #3
      I will say D.
      Kentucky fan since 1971.

      Comment

      • BJD
        Senior Member
        • Nov 2016
        • 454

        #4
        I think the correct answer is B. But the way it's called is D.

        Comment

        • Owllycat
          Senior Member
          • Feb 2015
          • 2082

          #5
          Im guessing B.

          Comment

          • 85 Fly
            Senior Member
            • Oct 2015
            • 1297

            #6
            I know the rules changed...so I'm going with D

            Comment

            • TrueblueCATfan
              Senior Member
              • Oct 2014
              • 16247

              #7
              Originally posted by Lighthouse
              When a post player has his or her back to the basket, which of the following does not result in a foul.

              A. The defender places two hands on the player with the ball merely incidentally and without dispwith the balllacement.
              B. The defender places an extended arm bar or one hand with a bend in the elbow on the player with the ball without displacement.
              C. The defender places a forearm of equal pressure applied to the back of the post player with the ball.
              D. All of the above result in a foul even if no holding, displacing or impeding of the player occurs with the ball.
              I will say D

              Comment

              • Lighthouse
                Gone But Never Forgotten
                • Oct 2014
                • 35962

                #8
                The correct answer to question # 14,

                is C for NCAA Men, B for NCAA Women, and D for HS.

                RULE 10; Fouls and Penalties.

                Section 1. Personal Fouls.
                Art. 3.
                A player shall not use his hand(s) on an opponent to inhibit the freedom of movement of the opponent in any way.
                Art. 4. The following acts constitute a foul when committed against a player with the ball:
                a. Keeping a hand or forearm on an opponent;
                b. Putting two hands on an opponent.
                c. Continually jabbing an opponent by extending an arm(s) and placing a hand or forearm on the opponent;
                d. Using an arm bar to impede the progress of a dribbler.

                Art. 5. The following principles apply to post play and constitute fouls when violated:
                a. Neither the offense or defense may dislodge an opponent during post play by pushing, backing into, or using a leg, knee or arm to move an opponent from a legally established position.
                b. A post player may establish post position with his arm(s) bent at the elbow. A straight arm may not be used to ward off an opponent or to prevent him from legally guarding the post player.
                c. The “swim stroke” may not be used by the offense or defense to reposition, regain position, or move an opponent from a legally established position;
                d. Defensive players may use one arm bar on a post player with or without the ball in the post area. The arm bar may not be extended or used to dislodge an opponent.
                e.
                Defensive players in the post are required to adhere to all other guarding rules.


                John 3:3

                Comment

                • 85 Fly
                  Senior Member
                  • Oct 2015
                  • 1297

                  #9
                  ^^ I started to say C! I keep getting the HS answer right more than college...I need to stay away from all these HS games-Lol.

                  Comment

                   

                  Forum Ch-ch-changes - Report Here

                  Hello All! You may see some things bouncing around, colors changing, and functionality being added and removed as we look at how to make some requested...
                   

                  A Word From Our Founder

                  With the recent discussion of rules and what is and is not posted I set out to find what our mission statement originally was and this is what I found:...

                  Basketball Question # 14.

                  Collapse
                  Working...